Malaysia: Batu Caves

We were one day early for the Thaipusam Festival. We actually didn’t know about it, so we felt lucky to witness the preparations made by our Hindu brothers and sisters. We were greeted by this gigantic statues and intricate architectural designs. There were a lot of people both tourists and devotees roaming around and performing some rituals.

Batu Cave Malaysia

Batu Cave Malaysia

People were busy going back and forth. There were also stalls that sell different kinds of stuff. There was one that has a snake photo booth. You have to pay at least 3 RM to have a picture with a snake.

Batu Cave Malaysia

Batu Cave Malaysia

This picture’s kind blurry. This was the result of zooming in,and no-camera-control because I was hungry and shaking a little.

Batu Cave Malaysia

Batu Cave Malaysia

This is one the prayer areas.

Batu Cave Malaysia

Batu Cave Malaysia

Many people entered this, but they had to remove their footwear.

Batu Cave Malaysia

Batu Cave Malaysia

The big yellow balloon. It was so big, I wondered if it could lift me up.

Batu Cave Malaysia

Batu Cave Malaysia

The famous Punjabi sweets. I bought 10 assorted pieces. My sister didn’t enjoy it much as I did.

Batu Cave Malaysia

Batu Cave Malaysia

Another beautiful view… Made me feel like I was in a movie.

Batu Cave Malaysia

Batu Cave Malaysia

The famous Murugan Statue.

Batu Cave Malaysia

Batu Cave Malaysia

I was too tired and hungry. i was about 23 steps high when I decided to go down. However, I thought this might be my one and only chance, so I gathered my all my chakra, and climbed the 272 steps high cave. It was worth it.

Batu Cave Malaysia

Batu Cave Malaysia

As you can see, it was a busy day. Some people were also carrying a pot and they had covered themselves with a yellowish clay.

Batu Cave Malaysia

Batu Cave Malaysia

I was amazed how devoted the Hindus are. There were very old men who actually managed to perform their rituals. Young children as early as 3 or four were also participating.

Batu Cave Malaysia

Batu Cave Malaysia

After  the 272 steps exercise, I was awed by the Ramayan Cave. It was my first time to actually enter a cave. I was so overwhelmed. I conquered my fear of falling down,and had crossed out one from my bucket list. Anyway, my sister was waiting for me at the top for at least 10 minutes.

Batu Cave Malaysia

Batu Cave Malaysia

I was contented by the view, so I didn’t decide to go further. Plus, I thought the Ramayana Cave was already too sacred to intrude.

Batu Cave Malaysia

Batu Cave Malaysia

I was also surprised because there were two men dressed in these costumes. I believed they were seers. Hindus were whispering something to them, and they also responded.

Batu Cave Malaysia

Batu Cave Malaysia

Every corner has its own design.

Batu Cave Malaysia

Batu Cave Malaysia

People were worshiping. I like this small temple-like place.

Batu Cave Malaysia

Batu Cave Malaysia

These are part of their religious beliefs.

Batu Cave Malaysia

Batu Cave Malaysia

Another attractions are the monkeys. They were waiting for people with bananas. They would get the fruit and go back to their places.

Batu Cave Malaysia

Batu Cave Malaysia

The view halfway.

Batu Cave Malaysia

Batu Cave Malaysia

This picture reminded me to be brave and fly.

2 thoughts on “Malaysia: Batu Caves

Leave a Reply

